/   preporucujemo.com   / Maltija  

2019-10-17 14:10:39

Thursday, October 17, 2019, 13:55

The Rolex Middle Sea Race starts this Saturday, 19 October. In the meantime, the traditional warm up race, the Rolex Middle Sea Coastal Race, was held on Wednesday 16 October. 35 Yachts took part, divided into six IRC Classes. The Royal Malta Yacht Club Principal Race Officer, Peter Dimech, set a course of approximately 30 nautical miles from Marsamxett Harbour, around the Valletta Harbour Fairway Buoy, north west up to the island of Comino and the same course back to the finish, in sight of the yacht club.

The overall winner of the Rolex Middle Sea Coastal Race was the ICE52 PrimaVista-Lauria (IRC 3, ITA) skippered by Gabriele Bruni. Second was the First 45 Elusive 2 (IRC 4, MLT) co-skippered by Christoph & Aaron Podesta. Third overall was the Pronavia 38 Seawolf (IRC 6, GBR), skippered by David Latham.  The Davidson 69 Pendragon (HUN) skippered by Zsolt Kiraly was the winner in IRC 1. Peter Gustafsson’s J/111 Blur (SWE) was the winner of IRC 5. TP52 Anafesto skippered by Spain’s Ricardo Terrades was the winner of IRC 2.

The Rolex Middle Sea Race Owner’s Reception & Coastal Race Prize Giving was held at the Verdala Palace and was co-hosted by Yachting Malta Ltd.  Present for the Prize Giving Ceremony was Hon. Dr. Konrad Mizzi, Minister for Tourism. Dating back to 1581, the Renaissance palace was designed by Girolamo Cassar and is the official summer residence of the President of Malta.

race rolex middle coastal lauria 2019 skippered winner sportinmalta malta october primavista

User comments